Writing for the Eye & Ear

I work at CMU Public Radio, so I’m constantly writing for ears. My stories do end up online, but it’s a quick fix of changing says to said – and phonetic spelling to correct spelling.

But in journalism classes, and writing for Grand Central Magazine I have to turn my brain back to writing for eye. It’s okay to add large words and not explain what everything means if you add a hyperlink.

Pictures, graphics and videos can aid in the process as well, much like soundbites aid in radio.

I’m constantly in a battle to switch between both. I feel it is helpful to understand and be proficient in both – but wow can it be challening!

Leave a Reply

